Which AWS Certification Should You Choose and Why?

So, you are considering obtaining AWS certification. That’s great! Today, cloud computing certification candidates are in great demand. Almost every organization is shifting its workload to the cloud. Around 33% of the cloud infrastructure market is owned by AWS. 

But where do you start? AWS provides twelve separate certifications, divided into four different levels. The question now is where to start and which AWS certification suits your career goals. At first glance, this can seem very overwhelming. But once you figure out what’s what, the path usually becomes very clear. 

But before we start making the list, let’s understand why we should choose an AWS certificate.

Why go for an AWS Certification?

  • Prepare you for the upcoming trends in the IT industry.
  • You need to put effort into getting certified and it acts as a validation of your hard work and knowledge.
  • You get the opportunity to be a part of the AWS Certified community, which is an excellent opportunity to expand your knowledge, networks, and have meaningful connections with like-minded people globally.
  • AWS Certified candidates enjoy around 129,868 per year salary in the market.

Types of AWS Certification

AWS provides twelve separate certifications, divided into four different levels. 

Foundation certification:

This is an entry-level and basic certification for newcomers starting their cloud computing journey. To obtain this certification, you must understand the basics of the cloud and understand how AWS services work. However, you will not be required to implement any hands-on exercises at this level. 

Requirements: 6 months of basic AWS cloud knowledge and industry experience are required.

Associate Certification: 

If you have work experience in AWS services, associate certification can help you advance your cloud career. The Assistant-level certification covers a wide range of AWS services. 

Requirements: One year of experience in implementing solutions using the AWS cloud is required.

There are three associate-level AWS certifications online:

  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect: In this certification, candidates will be able to design, manage, and implement applications using tools and services on the AWS platform. 
  • AWS Certified SysOps Administrator: This Associate exam is about developing and maintaining AWS-based applications.
  • AWS Certified Developer: This exam is the only one that is thoroughly equipped with system administrators. Passing this exam requires having both technical expertise as well as conceptual knowledge of the operational aspects of the AWS platform.

Professional Certification:

Finally, we are talking about certification at the professional level. These exams are not a joke. They represent the pinnacle of AWS certification, with a wide range and focus.

Therefore, you can only apply for the Professional Level Certification if you already have experience working on AWS or have mastered the AWS Assistant Level Certification.

Requirements: Two years of using AWS to design, operate, and troubleshoot solutions.

There are two professional-level AWS certifications online: 

  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect 
  • AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional.

Specialty Certification:

These certifications are for individuals seeking to specialize in certain skills. These certifications require technical expertise in the AWS cloud and focus on much smaller AWS services. Before taking the professional-level certification exam, you must be an expert in your chosen profession. 

Requirements: Technical expertise in AWS cloud expertise is required.

There are six specialty-level AWS certifications offered: 

  • AWS Certified Advanced Networking 
  • AWS Certified Security 
  • AWS Certified Machine Learning 
  • AWS Certified Alexa Skill Builder 
  • AWS Certified Data Analytics 
  • AWS Certified Database

Which AWS Certification should I choose?

Which AWS certification online is right for you depends on your existing role, experience, career goals, and skill set. 

  1. Completely New to the Cloud: If you are a beginner and want to start your career in cloud computing, you can start with the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner certification. It will give you a good understanding of the AWS Cloud, its benefits, architecture patterns, and core AWS services.
  2. Have basic AWS experience or technical IT background: If you have working experience with AWS cloud services or a strong technical IT background, you can opt for the Associate-level Certifications. 
  3. Take the AWS Certified Solutions Architect Certification – Associate first. It will give you a strong understanding of the core AWS services.
  4. You can take the AWS Certified Developer – Associate Certification if you are already a developer and want to learn about services like AWS Lambda and Amazon DynamoDB. You will also learn to optimize your code for performance and security.
  5. You can take the AWS Certified SysOps Administrator-if you are a SysOps Engineer and willing to learn about how to optimize infrastructure to run on AWS. 
  6. Have over two years of AWS Experience: If you have more than two years of comprehensive cloud work experience, the Certified Solution Architect professional certification will be a good choice. It covers a wide range of skills and is not focused on a single platform, field, or area of ​​expertise. 
  7. If you have many years of experience using AWS but have not yet earned an AWS certification, you may want to start with a professional level or a professional certification. However, it is recommended that you start with the associate-level certification to familiarize yourself with the basics.
  8. If you have at least two years of experience in specific fields such as big data, machine learning, security, and networking, then you should obtain an AWS professional certification. For example, if you want to acquire machine learning skills, you can get the AWS Certified Machine Learning Specialty certification. To do this, you need to learn more about machine learning and how AWS machine learning services work.


We all agree that the AWS certification trend will not end! AWS provides a powerful cloud platform and regularly provides new services, functions, and certifications. Therefore, to test your AWS cloud expertise, choosing the right AWS certification is essential. So, what are you waiting for? Enroll in an AWS course online today!